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REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE GEORGIA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
Suite 1000 - International Tower
229 Peachtree Street, N. E.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-1605
Telephone Number (404) 656-3916
Fax Number (404) 656-6650
EMAIL Address - grecmail@grec.state.ga.us
Website Address - www.grec.state.ga.us
I. RESIDENTS
A copy of the Georgia Crime Information Report (GCIC) on the applicant. Such reports must not be more than 60
days old. The applicant can obtain a GCIC from any local sheriff's office or police department. (Depending on the
law enforcement agency’s policy, there may be a waiting period to obtain the report.)
If the applicant is aware of any conviction, nolo contendere plea, or first offender sentence that is not on the GCIC
report, the applicant must disclose such conviction(s).

Failureto supply a GCICreportwill result in the Commission’s returning the entire application unprocessed.
Failure to disclose all convictions, nolo contendere pleas, First Offender sentences and disciplinary
sanctions are grounds for denial of your license.

A. AGE

Individuals must be at least 18 to be licensed as a community association manager or salesperson and 21 to be
licensed as a broker or associate broker. Applicants may take the community association manager's or
salesperson's examination atage 17, but cannot activate the license until they are 18. Similarly, applicants may take
the broker's examination at age 20, but cannot activate the license until they are 21.

1. In order to be granted a license, an individual must be a high school graduate or the holder of a certificate of
equivalency.

2. Each applicant for the SALESPERSON'S EXAMINATION must:

a. complete the 75 hour prelicensing salesperson's course approved by the Georgia Real Estate
Commission; OR

b. complete 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours in real estate courses at an accredited college or university
(usually only real estate department or law school courses will meet this qualification). College credits to
meet this education requirement must meet normal degree requirements. Special short courses or adult
education courses will not meet the education requirement unless the college or university gives full
academic credit for the course or the Commission specifically approved it.

3. Each application for the COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION MANAGER'S EXAMINATION must:

a. complete the 25 hour prelicensing community association manager's course approved by the Georgia
Real Estate Commission; OR

b. complete 4 quarter hours or 2 semester hours in real estate courses at an accredited college or university
(usually only real estate department or law school course will meet this qualification).

c. College credits to meet this education requirement must meet normal degree requirements, and the
courses must have a concentration in community associations and community association management.
Special short courses or adult education courses will not meet the education requirement unless the
college or university gives full academic credit for the course or the Commission specifically approved the
course

4. Each applicant for the BROKER'S EXAMINATION must:
a. complete a 60 hour prelicensing broker's course approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission; OR
b. complete 15 quarter hours or 9 semester hours in real estate courses atan accredited college or university
(see item 3b above); and
c. iflicensed as a community association manager, complete an additional 75 hours in a course or courses
approved by the commission

5. The Commission has not approved any school teaching real estate licensing courses other than those on its list
of approved schools (except accredited colleges or universities described in items 2b 3b or 4b above).
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B. EXPERIENCE
There are no experience requirements for a community association manager's or salesperson's license. The law requires
three years of active licensure before an applicant may qualify for a broker's license. Active service for three years as a
licensee in another state or states meets the experience requirement for a broker's license. To obtain approval of out-of-
state experience, the applicant must secure a certified copy of his or her license history and education in other states from
those states' licensing agencies and submit this with his or her application for licensure after passing the examination. The
certified copy or copies of the license history must not be more than one year old at the time of application.

C. EXAMINATION
The Georgia Real Estate Salesperson, Broker, and Community Association Manager examinations are administered via
computer at four AMP test centers throughout the state of Georgia. The examinations are offered five days a week in
Marietta and Lilburn, and Thursday through Saturday in Macon and Savannah.

If you are currently enrolled in a Commission approved pre-license real estate course, you must apply for the Georgia Real
Estate License Examinations using the REAL computer application system. Persons not currently enrolled in a Commission
approved prelicense real estate course should contact AMP for a Candidate Handbook. The handbook which contains fees,
and locations of test sites can be obtained by writing to Applied Measurement Professionals, Georgia Real Estate
Examinations, 18000 West 105th Street, Olathe, Kansas 66061-7543, or calling 1-800-345-6559.

IIl. PERSONS APPLYING FOR NONRESIDENT LICENSES

If you have leased or purchased a residence in Georgia, you must attach a copy of the Georgia Crime Information
Report (GCIC) on the applicant. Such reports must not be more than 60 days old. The applicant can obtain a GCIC
from any local sheriff's office or police department. (Depending on the law enforcement agency’s policy, there may
be a waiting period to obtain the report.)

If the applicant is aware of any conviction, nolo contendere plea, or first offender sentence that is not on the GCIC
report, the applicant must disclose such conviction(s).

Failure to supply a GCIC report will result in the Commission’ returning the entire application unprocessed.
Failure to disclose all convictions, nolo contendere pleas, First Offender sentences and disciplinary
sanctions are grounds for denial of your license.

If you met the examination or education requirements for a license in a licensing jurisdiction other than your current
state of residence, you must also obtain a certificate of your license history from the licensing jurisdiction where the
licensing requirements were met.

Since Florida does not grant full reciprocity to Georgia licensees, Georgia law requires that the Commission impose
on applicants from Florida requirements which are substantially equivalent to the requirements which Florida
imposes on Georgia licensees seeking nonresident licensure.

A. AN INDIVIDUAL LICENSED IN FLORIDA must take and pass the state portion of the qualifying examination
for the Georgia license which the applicant seeks. To qualify for this exemption the applicant must submit with
the application for examination (and also with the application for a license) an original certification of license
history, not more than one year old, from the Florida Real Estate Commission.

B. ANINDIVIDUAL LICENSED IN ANY OTHER STATE, either a nonresident or a licensee moving to Georgia, shall
be granted a license without further examination or education if such applicant submits a certification (no more
than one year old) of license history from his/her state of residence that reflects that you are currently licensed
in good standing (Cannot be lapsed or expired).

If you do not meet the above requirements, you must take and pass the qualifying examination for the Georgia
license which you seek. Contact the Commission for a different application.

C. A current certified copy of any disciplinary actions taken against your license in any other licensing jurisdiction(s)
in which you have held a license.

An applicantwho does not meet all of the above requirements must take and pass the qualifying examination
for the Georgia license which the applicant seeks.
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V.

PERSONS LICENSED IN OTHER STATES WHO HAVE MOVED TO GEORGIA
Must meet the requirements cited in Il. B. above.

RESIDENTS AND NONRESIDENTS

A. APPLYING FOR LICENSURE

1.

COMMISSION REVIEW - Any applicant who has been convicted of a crime or sanctioned by any licensing
agency must reveal that fact on his or her application. Likewise, any applicant who is currently required to
make child support payments must reveal on the application whether or not those payments are up-to-date.
The Commission will then conduct an investigation and review the application thoroughly before deciding
whether to issue the license.

NOTE: If you have prior criminal convictions/disciplinary actions in another state you may wish to apply for a

preliminary decision from the Commission before you incur the expense of a license. Contact the
Commission for the Application for Preliminary Decision Regarding Prior Criminal Conviction(s)
or Disciplinary Sanction(s).

FEES - Any person making application foracommunity association manager's or salesperson's license within
three months from the date of taking the examination must pay a total fee of $170.00. Any person making
application for a community association manager's or salesperson's license more than_three months but
less than twelve months from the date of taking the examination must pay atotal fee of $340.00. Any
person making application for a broker's license must pay a total fee of $170.00. These fees cover all fees
due for the first four years of licensure.

APPLICATION DEADLINE - Persons applying for a community association manager's or salesperson's
license must apply within twelve months of the date they took the examination; or after twelve months have
passed, they must retake the examination.

INACTIVE STATUS - Any individual who successfully passes the examination may apply to place his or her
license on inactive status rather than activating with a broker. In this case, the applicant must pay the
appropriate licensing fee. The salesperson postlicensing educational requirements still apply to a
salesperson who goes on inactive status. Any licensee who places a license on inactive status must pay
renewal fees as they come due.

POSTLICENSE EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
Salespersons must take the 25 hour Sales Postlicense course in their first year of licensure. The course
taken must be one specifically approved by the Commission.

All salesperson licensees whether they are on active or inactive status, resident or nonresident status, must
complete this education requirement within one year of licensure.

C. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

All active licensees (with license numbers above 100,000) must complete at least twenty-four (24) hours of
approved continuing education coursework during each four year renewal period.
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