
2014 Calendar 
 
UGREC Brokerage Course & 
Trust Accounts Class 
DatesUH: 
 

• May 7-8, 2014 
Middle Georgia AOR 
www.mgar.org 

• July 9-10, 2014 
Savannah GAR 
www.savannahboard
ofrealtors.com  

 
Common Violations Class 
DatesU:  
 

• May 21, 2014 
Clarkesville, GA 
706-776-1551 

•  June 19,  2014 
Tucker,  GA 
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Increase in Required Continuing Education Hours 
Since continuing education (CE) was first required of non-grandfathered real estate 
licensees in 1980, the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) has not increased the 
CE hours. Based on the number of repeated types of violations, surveys of licensees, 
input from industry professionals, and the ever-changing industry, the Georgia Real 
Estate Commission determined that an increase from 24 to 36 hours of CE per renewal 
period would further “protect the public” which is the function of the GREC. The 
Commission cites the following reasons for the increase: 
1. The national average of CE hours is 9.3 hours per year. All surrounding states 

except  for  South  Carolina  have  more CE hours  per  year  than  Georgia. This 
increase   would   put   Georgia nearer   the   national   average   and   above   
all surrounding states.  

2 .  The  purpose  of  the GREC  is  to  "protect   the   public"  from  misconduct  and 
violations  by real  estate licensees  of  real  estate law and  rules. The  
GREC firmly believes  that  an increase  in CE taken  by real estate licensees  
will help diminish the  number of violations  by licensees  of the  license law.   

3. The GREC considers real estate licensees as professionals. As professionals, 
real estate licensees should   take   CE   hours   commensurate with other 
professions. For example,  attorneys are  required  to  take 12 hours of CE each  
year, insurance  agents  15 hours of CE each  year  and appraisers  14 hours of 
CE each year. The GREC wants to insure the integrity and "raise the bar" for 
licensee professionalism. 

The Georgia Real Estate Commission passed changes to two of its Rules at its April 2, 
2014 meeting. 
Maintaining a License – As of July 1, 2015, this Rule change increases continuing 
education hours from 24 to 36 for the 4 year license renewal period. Also, as of July 1, 
2016, the 36 required hours of continuing education shall include 3 mandatory hours 
on the topic of License Law. This issue of the GREC RENews details this rule update. 
Rule 520-1-.05 Maintaining a License. 
Advertising – This Rule change primarily addresses the use of the Internet to advertise 
real property. Rule 520-1-.09 Advertising A more detailed article addressing the new 
rules on advertising will be published in the May issue of the GREC RENews. 
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The new requirements for Continuing Education address certain mandatory (required) topics. 
Mandatory in this case, means that in order to renew, each licensee must take at least one     
3-hour course that covers specific subject areas on the topic of license law as identified by 
the Georgia Real Estate Commission. The course provider will be required to include required 
subjects in the course to comply with the requirements for the 3-hour mandatory license law 
course approval. Many states across the country have required mandatory topics for many 
years, and in fact require the same course to be updated and taught to every licensee every 
renewal period. However in Georgia, the License Laws, Rules, and Regulations allow the 
course provider to present the required topics in a variety of methods, as long as the material is 
sufficiently covered. By July 2016, in order to renew, every licensee must take at least (1)  
3-hour CE course covering those license law topics as mandated by GREC. 

Georgia Real Estate 
Commission 
Suite 1000 
International Tower 
229 Peachtree Street NE 
Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 
Phone 404-656-3916 
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The section of the rule that changed is stated below, and you can click this link to read the 
changes to Rule 520-1-.05 Maintaining a License or go to the GREC website and read the 
Rule. 
(1) Required Education. 
(d) In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall furnish to the Commission 
evidence of satisfactorily completing thirty-six (36) instructional hours of continuing 
education courses during the renewal period. The effective date of this requirement shall be 
July 1, 2015. Any licensee who renews an active license on or after this date must have 
completed thirty-six (36) hours of continuing education courses in order to renew. 
(e) A licensee shall satisfactorily complete at least three (3) hours of continuing education on 
the topic of license law during each license renewal period. The effective date of this 
requirement shall be July 1, 2016. Any licensee  who  renews  an  active  license  on  or  
after  this  date  must  have completed at least three (3) hours of continuing education 
on the topic of license law in order to renew. 
 

Note that the new Rule has 2 parts, 1) number of hours and 2) the requirement of a license 
law course, and they are staggered in the years they become effective. If a licensee renews 
between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016, he/she must take 36 hours of CE to renew. If a 
licensee renews on or after July 1, 2016 , the 36 hours must include a course that includes    
3-hours on the topic of license law.  

Any course developed to qualify as a continuing education course on the topic of license 
law will contain material that covers such topics as trust account requirements, brokerage 
relationships, unfair trade practices, advertising, licensees acting as principals, and other 
topics as deemed appropriate by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. Course providers will 
be required to identify the course as meeting the requirements for the 3-hour mandatory 
license law course approval. 
Note Regarding Grandfathered Licensees: Because it takes a 
statutory change by the Georgia General Assembly to require continuing education for 
“Grandfathered Licensees” (those licensed prior to 1980), these “Grandfathered Licensees” 
will continue to be exempt from all continuing education requirements. However, 
Grandfathered licensees are encouraged to attend CE courses and in particular the courses 
that cover updates and a review of License Laws, Rules, and Regulations. Every licensee is 
responsible for being knowledgeable regarding the License Laws, Rules, and Regulations and 
being uninformed is not a defense for a violation of the License Laws, Rules, and Regulations. 

GREC  
Online 

Courses 
Click Here 

Link to the 
Georgia Real 
Estate 
License Laws, 
Rules, and 
Regulations 

Key Points 
 

• Beginning July 1, 2015 each licensee must have completed 36 hours of Continuing 
Education to renew a license. 

• Beginning July 1, 2016, each licensee must have completed 3 hours on the topic of license 
law as part of the 36 hours of CE. 
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The Appraisers Page 

Sounds like a sales pitch right? The salesman says "don't you wish you had bought 
Apple stock when it was...." or your husband or wife says, "if we had only sold our house 
in early 2007..." (as we know the market peaked in mid 2007 and then dropped as much 
as 50-60+% in some areas). Well no one has a crystal ball and hind sight is 20/20. But if 
you look back at many of these major monetary events, there was evidence of their 
forthcoming.  Particularly with the real estate market, many were predicting the collapse 
months before it happened. 
 
While maybe it is not as dramatic as the crash of 2007 or a huge stock gain, I believe we 
are at a point where we may look back and say, "if we had only listed our house in the 
spring/summer of 2014". Inventory of homes for sale is very low. This is due to many 
factors, still over 25% of owners are underwater or owe more than their house is worth. 
There are also many sellers who are reluctant to list their home because they do not see 
any alternative to buy.  I have made reference to this in past articles as the "reluctant 
seller syndrome".  The rapid rate of sales of homes is decreasing the future supply or 
inventory of homes.  

Buyers are lining up in mass for each new listing in most popular areas. It is very common to have 20+ 
showings the first day the home is listed and 3 to 5 offers the same day. I have heard of properties with 15 to 
20 offers within the first few days of listing. Are these properties all under-priced,  or is there such an under 
supply of homes and over supply of buyers that it is forcing this type of competition? What is this doing to 
home values? Well, it is driving them up at record rates. This creates an enormous challenge for appraisers.  
Monitoring and analyzing the rate of appreciation is part of our job, but these rapid jumps are often 
unsubstantiated, at least in the short term. Which is the time we as appraisers have to analyze the data. 
Three or four months down the road it will be easy to track how values rose but with the limited data available 
and the rate of increase it is very difficult.  
 
The other big problem faced by appraisers is properties which are not listed in the multiple listing service(s).  I 
know I am getting back up on my soapbox as I have preached this before, but it is so critical for everyone to 
understand the damaging effects of not listing every sale. One might say "can't the appraiser find the data in 
public records" or "what if I give the appraiser a copy of the HUD and any other documents supporting the 
sale". We have at least three problems with this issue. First, most lenders will not allow appraisers to use or 
place significant weight on any sale which was not adequately exposed to the market. This goes back to the 
early 2000's when mortgage fraud ran rampant. All of those fraudulent sales were referred to as "for sale by 
owner sales", and all of the fraudulent sales were in the public record,  but they were never exposed or tested 
by the market. Another issue the appraiser runs into is that we have no way to verify the condition and quality 
of the home. MLS gives us photos and descriptions which we use to make adjustments. It also provides 
published evidence to subsequent underwriters and reviews. Yes, most underwriters have access to MLS, 
verify every comparable and often suggest additional comparables.  
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"Once-in-a-lifetime opportunity" 
 

By D. Scott Murphy, SRA 
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The biggest reason that this is the time to list and sell your home is the lack of competition from new homes. 
New home construction is still well below normal levels, which has kept inventory tight. New construction is also 
focused more on the first time home buyer or the lower end of the market. This is not to say there are no 
communities in the higher price brackets, but in order to develop the profit levels necessary to build out a 
subdivision, most home-builders start in the lower price ranges and then values gradually creep up. With this 
also comes a lesser of quality than what we saw in pre-crash homes. This is very easy to see when you go into 
a neighborhood that started in the early 2000s, failed, and is now being completed by a new builder. I have yet 
to see one of these neighborhoods where they are building higher quality homes than were previously built. 
Again, builders are having to watch their budgets and use lesser quality materials in order to deliver a profitable 
home. This, too, will change in time as buyers demand high quality materials. 
 
Builders are building as fast as they can. They are strapped with labor shortages, lack of materials (I heard the 
drywall plantings are running 24/7), and lack of developed lots. All the developed lot which sat vacant for so 
many years - the "PVC pipe farms" as many of us called them, have been snatched up. So builders and 
developers must start from scratch and that process takes years to make it through all the red tape necessary to 
get a subdivision out of the ground. Speaking with Steve Brooks, a local Atlanta homebuilder, he said, "It takes a 
minimum of 2 years to go from acquisition of the land to delivering a home". Searching the NAHB (National 
Association of Home Builders) website, I found that the current rate of issuance of building permits is only up 5% 
nationwide (Feb 2014 over Feb 2013). Georgia is actually down 11% for the same time period. How could that 
be possible? My guess is that more permits were issued last year because the lots were already in place. This 
past year has been spent developing new lots and my guess is that by this time next year, those rates will 
skyrocket. 
The buyers that are lining up for each existing home listing will be drawn to the new construction. The only 
reason they are not buying new construction is that buyers are not used to waiting 3-6 months for a home to be 
built. That is why I say that now is the time to list your home - the "once in a lifetime opportunity". New 
construction is coming like a steamroller. 
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The third and maybe most important issue to you as an agent who specializes in this 
particular market is that by not putting that sale in MLS because of “pocket listings”, future 
sellers and buyers do not have access to that information and that has a negative impact on 
all the other sales and listings in the neighborhood. Combined with that, appraisers use the 
MLS data to determine market trends. If your sale(s) are not in the system, it will impact 
adjustments such as appreciation.  
 
In February, nearly 35% of all offers were in cash across the country, which was a 30% 
increase from a year earlier, according to RealtyTrac. The number of cash buyers has 
increased over the past few years due to the low returns most are seeing on investment and 
savings accounts. Many are also deterred by heightened requirements for obtain traditional 
mortgage financing. 

"Once-in-a-lifetime opportunity" 
 

By D. Scott Murphy, SRA 
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