Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
All individuals who hold an active real estate license and whose license number is above 100,000 are required to complete 36 hours of Commission approved continuing education during each four (4) year renewal period, including 3 hours on the topic of License Law. If your license number is less than 100,000 you are not required to complete continuing education for renewal.
You can use our Online Services to check your continuing education status.
For more information on the approved subject areas for real estate continuing education courses, click here. You can review our list of Approved Real Estate Schools if you need to find continuing education courses.
A non-resident licensee who holds an active real estate license in another state, may provide proof of meeting the education requirements in that state to satisfy the Georgia requirements by:
(a)Submitting a copy of your current pocket card from the other state. That pocket card must state the license is in Active status, as well as indicate a renewal date greater than the due date for your Georgia renewal. (For example, if your Georgia renewal due date is May 31st of this year, then your pocket card in the other state must have an end of renewal due date of June 1 of this year or later.)
(b) Submitting course completion certificates showing completion of at least 36 hours of continuing education that was approved by the other state's real estate commission.
In order to expedite processing, it is recommended that information submitted to GREC by sent via email to GRECmail@grec.state.ga.us. Documents may also be sent via fax to 404-656-6650 or by mail, or in person.