Criminal History Report - GCIC
The Official Code of Georgia Annotated Section 43-39A-14 and Section 43-40-15 states that appraiser classifications and real estate licenses "shall be granted only to persons who bear a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact real estate appraisal activity and/or the business of a licensee in such manner as to safeguard the interests of the public and only after satisfactory proof of such qualifications has been presented to the Commission/Board."
The Commission/Board may deny a license/classification to any applicant who has a prior criminal conviction(s) or a disciplinary sanction(s) imposed by any occupational licensing body. In order to verify a background check, the Commission/Board requires all applicants to obtain and submit a Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) report.
How to obtain a GCIC Report
No more than 60 days prior to making application for a license approval, each candidate for licensure at his/her own expense must obtain a certified criminal history report (GCIC). You may obtain a GCIC report from most local sheriff's offices or police stations in Georgia . When obtaining a GCIC the candidate for licensure should indicate to the law enforcement office that it will be used to obtain a license and should be run as a “purpose code E.” In some counties the report may be available only through the probate court. Depending on the law enforcement agency's policy, there may be a waiting period to obtain the report, usually no more than 24 hours. Georgia law permits a fee of up to $25.00 for the report.
Any candidate for licensure who has been convicted of a crime or sanctioned by any licensing or regulatory agency of any kind must reveal that fact on his or her application. You must report previous convictions even if you have been pardoned or have been told that the offence is no longer on your record. If you are aware of any conviction in any state or country, nolo contendere plea, or first offender sentence that is NOT on the GCIC report, you MUST disclose it (them). Failure to disclose all convictions, nolo contendere pleas, First Offender sentences, and disciplinary sanctions can result in denial of a license.
Candidates for licensure that do not reside in Georgia should obtain a criminal background report from their state of residence or a National Crime Information Center background report [NCIC]. Candidates for licensure who have been convicted of a crime in more than one state will need to obtain an NCIC. For more information on obtaining an NCIC visit the FBI website.
If your GCIC report does not indicate any items which would impact your ability to be licensed/certified, you must take the report to the testing center (not the Commission/Board) to apply for your license/certification. If your GCIC indicates items that would impact your ability to be licensed/certified you will be referred back to the Commission/Board for an investigation. You may still take the examination while any items on your GCIC report are resolved.
What to do if you have prior Criminal Convictions or Disciplinary Actions
If your GCIC report or application contains items that may impact your approval for licensure/classifications you will need to obtain and submit supporting documentation to the Commission/Board in order to complete an investigation and render a decision. If you have prior items that you believe may affect your approval we STONGLY RECOMMEND submitting an application for Background Clearance. Upon receiving a preliminary decision application, the Board will conduct an investigation and then decide whether it would issue a classification if the applicant fulfilled all the requirements for classification. Thus a potential appraiser can receive an indication of whether a classification would be issued before incurring the time and expense of meeting the classification requirements. There is no fee for this application.
If your GCIC indicates or you have reported items that may impact your ability to be licensed/certified, you must submit the Background Clearance Application along with the required supporting documentation. If you have every been convicted of, pled nolo contendere to, or been granted first offender treatment in upon being charged with a crime in Georgia or any other state, jurisdiction or country or have or been sanctioned by any licensing or regulatory agency of any kind, you are required to submit the following documentation to initiate an investigation along with the GCIC report:
- a certified copy of the citation, accusation, information or indictment that led to every conviction;
- a certified copy of the sentence and/or Final Disposition of every conviction, no lon contendere plea, or First Offender sentence;
- a certified copy of the final order of the agency that imposed the disciplinary action for every disciplinary action;
- any allegations that preceded the final order for every disciplinary action;
- a detailed written statement including:
- the circumstances surrounding every conviction/disciplinary action (your age at the time, your motivation for committing the unlawful act, other parties involved, persons harmed, and so forth;
- whether you have made any required restitution;
- whether you have completed all conditions of your sentence;
- whether you are on probation;
- any steps you have taken to prevent a reoccurrence of your unlawful act;
- your work experience since the conviction(s)/disciplinary action(s); and
- why you should be issued a license in spite of the conviction(s)/disciplinary action(s)
- Letters from three character references not related to you by birth or marriage. If a broker has agreed to hold your license, one of the letters must be from that broker. Their letters must be signed and indicate:
- whether they are aware of your prior conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s);
- how long they have known you;
- how long they have known you as a teacher, friend, work colleague etc.;
- that they understand that you may be handling other people's money, may have access to confidential information, and may have access to other people's property;
- their estimation of your current reputation in the community; and
- telephone numbers at which they can be reached.
Certified copies of court documents may be obtained from the Clerk of the Court in the court in which each conviction, nolo contendere plea, and First Offender sentence occurred. If the court disposition is unavailable, you must provide a letter from the court stating that the documents are not available.
If you do not supply all of these documents, the Commission/Board will not process your application. It will be returned to you unprocessed and you will be charged a $25.00 fee.
Once a completed application is submitted to the Commission/Board, the Investigation Process will be initiated.