Skip to main content.

State Certified Residential Property Appraiser Requirements

The following list represents the requirements to obtain a State Certified Residential Property Appraiser Classification:

  1. A copy of the applicant's criminal history or Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) Report must be brought to the testing center prior to receiving appraiser classification. If the report indicates any crime convictions or sanctions by any licensing or regulatory agency, then the Board will conduct an investigation and decide whether or not to issue the license.
  2. Must be at least 18 years of age. Applicants may take the appraiser examination at age 17, but cannot apply for an appraiser classification until they are 18.
  3. Must be a high school graduate or the holder of a certificate of equivalency
  4. Must meet the following appraiser educational requirements:
    • All applicants must:
      • Furnish evidence of successful completion of at least 200 classroom hours in a course or courses approved by the Board. Applicants who seek to meet all or part of the educational requirement with college credit courses must submit an official transcript and show evidence of completion of a Board approved course of at least fifteen classroom hours with examination in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice; AND
      • Hold an associate degree or higher from a college or university accredited by one of the regional accrediting associations recognized by the United States Department of Education or provide college transcripts documenting successful completion of college-level courses of three semester hours or five quarter hours each in English composition, economics, finance, higher mathematics, statistics, basic computer applications, and business or real estate law.
  5. Upon the filing of an application for examination, an applicant must submit a detailed appraisal experience log on forms prescribed by the Board documenting at least 2,500 hours of real property appraisal experience. An applicant may count experience only if:
    • he or she earned that experience while holding a classification in Georgia or in another state;
    • the appraisal experience conforms to the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and any requirements of the Board's Substantive regulation 539-1-.16;
    • the appraisal experience was gained over a period of at least twenty-four months;
    • at least twenty-five percent of the appraisal experience was in complex one to four unit residential appraisal work; and
    • the applicant is able to document for each appraisal report the type of property appraised, the date of the report, the address of the property, a description of the work performed, the number of hours worked, and the name and signature of the supervising appraiser for at least the first 1,000 hours.
  6. Must pass the Examination administered by AMP and approved by the Board.
  7. Must pay the appropriate fee as described below:
    • If you are applying within 3 months from taking your exam, the fee will be $120.00 or $145.00 depending upon your birthdate.
      • If you have not had your birthday in the calendar year in which you apply for your license or certification, your classification period will be for one year and the fee will be $145.00.
      • If you have had your birthday in the calendar year in which you apply for your license or certification, your classification period will be for a year or less and the fee will be $120.00.
    • If you are applying more than three months but less than 12 months from taking your exam, the fee will be $215.00 or $240.00 depending upon your birthdate (see above).

Any individual who successfully passes an appraiser classification examination may apply to place his or her classification on active or inactive status. In either case, the applicant must pay the appropriate classification fee. Any appraiser who places a classification on inactive status must also pay renewal fees as they come due.

The Board requires each active appraiser to complete a total of 14 classroom hours in approved course work during each renewal period to meet the Continuing Education requirements.