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2010 Dates to Note 
 
• January 13, 2010 

GREC Brokerage 
Course  
West Metro Board 

• January 14, 2010 
GREC Trust Account  
Class 
West Metro Board 

• February 3, 2010 
GREC Brokerage 
Course 
Albany Board 

• February 4, 2010 
GREC Trust Account  
Class 
Albany Board 
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GREC RENEWS 

Georgia Real Estate Commission 

Focus on 
Terminology: 

“Mill” 

There are numerous deadlines and timeframes to monitor when dealing 
with real estate transactions and managing a real estate license is no exception. 
Numerous critical time periods must be adhered to in order to comply with the 
Georgia Real Estate License Law, Rules and Regulations. Many of these are 
only necessary on occasion as circumstances change and some of them may not 
be required at all if the circumstances never occur. 

 The following is a list of important time periods that is required by the 
License Law, Rules and Regulations. A link to the specific wording in the license 
law or rules and regulations follows each statement for further reference and 
clarification: 
  

• Within 10 days after expiration of the listing, the licensee must remove any 
advertising for sale rent, lease or exchange of real estate. This includes 
signage or internet postings or any media.  520-1-.09 (5) and 43-40-25(a)(11) 

 

• 10 Days to notify the Commission of the conviction for any administration, 
civil or criminal action (10 days from the date of conviction.)  520-1-05 (5) 

• Within 1 month of opening each account Brokers must notify the 
Commission of the name of the bank,  accounts name and number, where 
each Trust or Escrow account is maintained 520-1-.08 (1)(a) 

• 30 Days for the licensee to notify the Commission in writing of a change of 
address. This also applies to inactive licensees.  43-40-12(m)(1) and  
520-1-05 

• 30 Days for the licensee to notify the Commission in writing of the opening or 
closing of a designated trust account  43-40-12 (m)(1) 

• 30 Days for the licensee to notify the Commission in writing of transferring to 
a new company\of leaving a firm to go on inactive status 43-40-12(m)(1) 

• 30 Days for the Broker to notify the Commission in writing of a change the 
address of the broker’s place of business 43-40-19(a) 

• 30 Days for a licensee to respond to a written inquiry from the Commission 
requesting further information 43-40-12(m)(3) 

• 30 days to deliver all necessary transactions and funds documents to a 
property owner that is terminating a management contract (unless a different 
time is stated in the contract) 43-40-25 (33.2) 

 

• 60 days to replace a new qualifying broker if he/she dies, resigns, or is 
discharged or cease brokerage activity  520-1-.07 (3) 

• 3 years required for the maintenance of accurate copies of sales contracts, 
brokerage engagements, closing statements, offers, accounting records, 
leases, or other documents related to real estate transactions 520-1-.10 (4) 
and 43-40-25 (27) 

 

continued on page 2… 

Times to Remember 

Georgia Real Estate 
Commission 
Suite 1000 
International Tower 
229 Peachtree Street NE 

Click here to see 
the latest GREC 

Disciplinary 
Sanctions 

Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 
Phone 404-656-3916 
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http://www.westmetroboard.com/
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/docs/520/1/05.pdf
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/about/relaw.html
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/about/relaw.html
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/about/relaw.html
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/relaw.html
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/relaw.html
http://www.usamls.net/westmetro/
http://www.albanyboardofrealtors.com/
http://www.albanyboardofrealtors.com/
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/resanctions.html
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/relaw.html
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/relaw.html
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/relaw.html
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/docs/520/1/09.pdf
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/docs/520/1/08.pdf
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/docs/520/1/05.pdf
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/docs/520/1/07.pdf
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/docs/520/1/10.pdf
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Comments or 
Suggestions 
Click Here 

 

 

    GREC 

Visit the GREC 
website to sign 
up to receive the 
GREC RENews  
Click Here 
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In addition to the special circumstances listed on page 1, a real estate 
licensee must regularly maintain his/her license according to specific time 
requirements. 

• 4 years to obtain all required Continuing Education credit for license 
renewal. Individual licenses expire on the last date of the birth month of 
the licensee of the 4-year renewal period. 520-1-.05 

o Inactive licensees must also pay renewal fees or the license shall 
lapse. 520-1-.05 

• 4 years to renew Firm Licenses. Firm licenses expire 520-1-.05 on the 
last date of the birth month of the original licensure of the firm.  

• 3 years licensure to become a Broker. 43-40-8 (c) 
o 3 of the 5 years immediately preceding the filing of an application 

to become a broker must have been maintained on active status 
as a licensee 43-40-8 (c) 

o A licensee can sit for the broker exam after 2 years of licensure. 
• A newly licensed Salesperson has 1 year to complete a 25 Hour Post 

License course. 43-40-8 and 520-1-.05 
 

Review the actual Rules and Regulations on the Commission web site to 
determine further conditions and possible extensions to these time periods. 
 

o Index to Rules and Regulations 
 

o License Law 
 

A mill is one-tenth of one cent.(or 1 thousandth of a dollar). A mill is the 
measurement used to help establish property tax rates.  If the tax rate is 1 mill on 
the dollar, it is equal to 1/10 of 1% of the assessed value of the property. Most tax 
bills actually have the actual rate stated along with the calculation. 

Most property is taxed/assessed at some percentage of the Fair Market 
Value (FMV). In Georgia it is 40%. As an example, if a property has an appraised 
FMV value with the county of $200,000, the Assessed value is 40% x $200,000 or 
$80,000. The millage rate is applied to the $80,000. 

As property values have declined and properties are appraised, 
governmental entities receive less income from taxes to pay for on-going 
government services. In addition, some property owners appeal the assessed 
value of their properties due to the declining values in the market. This further 
impacts budgetary problems. As a result of strained finances, several county and 
municipal governments have increased their millage rates for various services to 
make up for the decreased values. 
Example: 
Fair Market Value (FMV)                                   $435,490.00 
40% Assessed Value                    $174,196.00 
Taxes @ tax rate of .00025 for State                  $         43.55 
Taxes @ tax rate of .00682 for County General        $    1,188.02 
Taxes @ tax rate of .01890 for School             $    3,292.30 
Taxes @ tax rate of .00256 for Fire                  $       445.94 
Total Taxes Due                                                 $     4,969.81 
Each county has procedures and specific deadlines to file for an appeal to property 
values. 

Enroll Now  
 

For Free 
GREC 
Online 

CE Course  
 

“Staying 
Out of 

Trouble”  
 

Click Here  

o Title 10 Chapter 6A Brokerage Relationships in Real Estate Transactions 
Act 

Other Critical Time Periods 

http://www.jmre.com/grecrenewscomment.htm�
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/docs/520/1/05.pdf
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/cgi-bin/page.cgi?g=GEORGIA_REAL_ESTATE_COMMISSION%2FLICENSURE_AND_BROKERAGE%2Findex.html&d=1
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