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2009 Dates to Note 
• October 6, 2009 

Common Violations 
Class 
SW Georgia Board 

• October 7, 2009 
Common Violations 
Class 
Valdosta Board 

• October 8, 2009 
Education Advisory 
Meeting  

• October 8, 2009 
Common Violations 
Class  
Tift Area Board 

• October 14, 2009 
GREC Brokerage  
Course 
Lake Country Board 

• October 15, 2009 
GREC Trust Account 
Lake Country Board  
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Focus on 
Terminology: 

“Citation” 

The Georgia Real Estate Commission has posted a notice regarding 
changing Rule 520-1-.14 Citations, which if approved will increase the dollar 
amount of certain disciplinary fines that the Commission may impose upon a 
licensee. To view the exact wording of the proposed rule, click here.  

 

 GREC is proposing to increase citations and fines as follows:
Every fine will be increased $400 over its original amount. 

 If approved, this new ruling will go into effect November 15, 2009. 
 

As an example, if a citation were issued to a licensee for failing to provide a copy 
of any document used in a real estate transaction to any individual signing such 
document, the Commission would be able to impose a fine of $500 whereas the 
fine is currently $100. 
 

Other examples from Rule 520-1-.14: 
• If a licensee fails to include a fixed date of expiration in a listing 

agreement, the fine would be $600 instead of the current $200 amount. 
• Failure of a licensee to deposit earnest money, security deposits or other 

trust funds according to the terms of a contract could be a fine of $800, 
instead of the current amount of $400. 

• If an approved school fails to have students complete the required 
number of hours in any course or to complete all exercises or exams 
required by the school, the fine would be $900 or $500 per student 
(whichever is greater), instead of $500 or $100 respectively as it is now. 

 

Remember that the maximum fine the Commission may impose is $1,000 per 
violation or $5,000 for multiple violations in any one citation. A citation issued by 
the Commission could also include an order to complete a course of study in real 
estate brokerage or instruction; the filing of periodic reports by an independent 
accountant on a real estate broker’s designated trust account; and/or the 
payment of a fine as discussed above.  For further information regarding fines, 
see Rule 520-1-.14 accessible from the GREC web site under license laws. 
 

If you feel these proposals are significant changes and would like to express your 
viewpoint, in favor or opposed, you must do so before October 1, 2009. To 
express an opinion or view regarding this change, contact or write the Georgia 
Real Estate Commissioner no later than October 1, 2009. 

 

Mr. Jeff Ledford, Georgia Real Estate Commissioner 
Georgia Real Estate Commission 
Suite 1000 – International Tower 
Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 

 

Proposed, Pending and Accepting Rule changes are always posted on the GREC 
website at http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/reproposed.html. 
 

Ruuullleeesss   aaannnddd   RRReeeggguuulllaaatttiiiooonnnsss   

Enroll Now  
 

For Free CE 
Course 
Online 

 
“Staying Out 
of Trouble”   

 
Click Here  

Georgia Real Estate 
Commission 
Suite 1000 
International Tower 
229 Peachtree Street NE 
Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 
Phone 404-656-3916 

http://www.realtor.org/leadrshp.nsf/fe893a35217bdd1f8625690a00521667/86b53dcf7186174b862568ac00633651?OpenDocument
http://www.valdostaboardofrealtors.com/
http://www.realtor.org/leadrshp.nsf/fe893a35217bdd1f8625690a00521667/c67385a84b586d3b862568ac0063368b?OpenDocument
http://www.jmre.com/grec/
http://www.lakecountryboardofrealtors.com/
http://www.lakecountryboardofrealtors.com/
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/PDFS/About/NOI520-1-August282009.pdf
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Comments or 
Suggestions 
Click Here 

 

 

    GREC 

Visit the GREC 
website to sign 
up to receive the 
GREC RENews  
Click Here 
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Accepted Rule Change Regarding 
Gifts and Referrals… 

Georgia Real Estate 
Commission 
Suite 1000 
International Tower 
229 Peachtree Street NE 
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Phone 404-656-3916 

Focus on Terminology:           “Citation” 

The word, Citation, as it related to real estate licensing in Georgia refers 
to a disciplinary often in the form of a monetary fine, that the Commission may 
impose for violations of the license law. It can be loosely compared to a parking 
ticket, but like parking tickets they can become serious and costly. Although 
citations do not show up on a licensee’s license history report, they are available 
as public information. In addition, a history of repetitive offenses resulting in 
citations can be cause for further scrutiny in future violations.  

Citations are the least serious of disciplinary measures that the 
Commission can impose. Other disciplinary actions could involve requirements to 
take education courses, periodic reporting of trust account management, and 
reduction of a broker’s license to that of a salesperson license, suspension of a 
license, or revocation of a license. All of these actions remain on the licensee’s 

Click here to see 
the latest GREC 

Disciplinary 
Sanctions 

Although the Commission issued an earlier rule change regarding this 
same subject, the latest rule change clarifies and simplifies the issues involving 
the disclosure of gifts and referrals and particularly those involving property 
management activities. This ruling became effective August 1, 2009. 
 

Commission, Fess, Rebates, or other Valuable Consideration must be disclosed: 
 on a settlement statement or supplemental document at settlement 
 a record of the fee, charge, rebate, profit, commission, referral fee or 

other valuable consideration must be maintained in the broker’s records 
and a copy provided to the principal holding a direct interest in that 
disclosure 

 referral fees in lease situations must be made and disclosed under pre-
established terms and recorded in the brokers files 

 a management agreement may establish terms where a licensee may pay 
a referral fee, or offer other valuable consideration related to management 
of the property on behalf of an owner; these terms must be pre-
established and a record kept in the broker’s files. 

No disclosure is required for the following circumstances: 
 expenses by a licensee on behalf of the principal  
 products, services or other things of value given the licensee so long as it 

is not conditioned upon obtaining a listing, purchase or sale, or other 
business (or services) related to a specific real estate transaction 

 the split or sharing agreements of commission, fess, or referral fees 
between the licensed or unlicensed affiliates of the broker 

For further clarification, read the entire ruling, at 
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/PDFS/About/NOI520-1-August152009.pdf or click the 
proposed ruling tab on the GREC web site. 

Disciplinary actions other than a citation are regularly 
posted on the GREC website. In addition, the pubic, or 
any licensee, can search by a licensee’s name or 
license number and view his/her license history 
including disciplinary sanctions issued against the 
licensee in Georgia.  

Enroll Now  
 

For Free 
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Course  
 

“Staying 
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Click Here  

http://www.jmre.com/grecrenewscomment.htm�
www.grec.state.ga.us/about/subscribe.html
http://www.jmre.com/grec/
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/resanctions.html

