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  AArree  YYoouu  LLeeggaall  oorr  JJuusstt  LL cckkyy??    
 

Consider this actual case and decide how you would have handled it.                

  
     

  

  
 

Some agents look to Property 
Management as an alternative 
source of income to listing and 
selling properties. It still requires a 
license and all those activities 
must be under the broker holding 
the agent’s license.  

A recent case involved a 
salesperson who sold a house to 
an investor. The sales transaction 
was handling through his broker as 
usual. However, when the investor 
wanted to rent out the house the 
agent decided to set up his own 
company (Leasing Specialists, 
LLC) for property management 
activities. His broker did not do 
property management in the firm. 
This is where the agent began a 
domino effect of violations.  

Here is the case involving 
Marty Barstow, a licensed 
salesperson: 

 

(Although this is an actual 
case, the real names of the 
companies and individuals have 
been changed.) 

1. After closing the sale of the house to 
his investor, Marty wrote a lease for a 
residential property stating the leasing 
agent as being Home Leasing 
Specialists, LLC, a company that is not 
licensed by the Georgia Real Estate 
Commission. 

2. He used a form lease from the 
brokerage company holding his license 
(TMG Company), but TMG was not 
involved in the transaction. The 
preprinted lease form indicated that 
TMG Company was the listing broker. 
The Broker of TMG was unaware of the 
agent’s property management activities. 

3. Marty deposited the Security Deposit 
into an operating account of Home 
Leasing Specialists, LLC, but the 
account was not registered as a trust 
account with the Commission. He 
should have given these trust funds to 
his broker ASAP.  

4. Upon deposit of the money, he gave 
himself a commission/management fee 
of $500. By doing so he received a 
commission from someone other than 
his broker.  
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Marty conducted brokerage 
activity under the name of an 
unlicensed firm and everything 
under that firm caused multiple 
violations of the license law. 

Marty received a Citation, 
was fined $1,000 plus $2,000 in 
legal, administrative and 
investigative costs and expenses 
and is required to complete 
continuing education approved by 
GREC. If he does not comply, 
other sanctions can be imposed. 

Clipart from Microsoft™ 

 

Licensee Laws Violated: 
43-40-25(b)(3)(4)(5)(8)(23)(25)  
43-40-30(a)(b), 520-1-.08(1)(b) 

PPrrooppeerrttyy  MMaannaaggeemmeenntt  
& UUnnlliicceennsseedd  AAccttiivviittiieess 
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page 2 

This article summarizes those 
changes to the Rules and 
Regulations of the License Law 
since the year 2009 in reverse 
chronological order.  
• Effective September 1, 2010, 

House Bill 1050 requires 
Appraisal Management 
Companies in Georgia to 
register with the Georgia Real 
Estate Appraisers Board. 

• Effective November 25, 2009, 
the maximum amount of 
disciplinary fine issued 
through citation was 
increased by $400 per 
violation, with the exception of 
violations by schools. For 
example the fine for failure of a 
licensee to provide a copy of 
any document used in a real 
estate transaction to any 
individual signing such 
document is now $500.00. The 
Schedule of Violations and 
Penalties is listed in Chapter 
520-1-.14 Citations.  

Recap of License Law Changes  
 • The fines for violations by schools 

were unchanged except for the 
section (gg) regarding the failure 
of a school to have students 
complete the required number of 
hours in any course or to complete 
all exercises and/or exams. The 
fine is now $400 (was $500) or 
$100 per student, whichever is 
greater, and is now subject to 
limits. Chapter 520-1-.14 
Citations. 

• Two amendments were made in 
2009 regarding the disclosure of 
commissions, gifts and referrals 
and specifically those involving 
property management activities. 
The last change became effective 
August 1, 2009. The rule states 
that commissions, fees, rebates 
or other valuable consideration 
must be disclosed and it also 
describes situations where a 
management agreement may 
set up pre-established terms for 
such fees. Chapter 520-1-.10 
Handling Real Estate 
Transactions. 

• As of April 1, 2009, the rule was 
amended to specify the 
conditions in which a non-broker 
licensee who owns property may 
place trust funds in a separate 
trust account from that of his/her 
broker. However it is significant 
to note that the rule clearly 
states that if the licensee owns 
less than 100% of the title to 
the property, then the funds 
must be placed in a trust 
account of a broker licensed 
by GREC. Chapter 520-1-.08 
Managing Trust Accounts and 
Trust Funds 
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Proposed rule changes 
may be initiated because 
the Commission sees an 
increasing number of 
cases that focus on one 
area, or seem to become 
a trend. 

The Georgia Real Estate 
Commission tracks the 
most common violations 
and notes certain 
activities increase or 
decease with market and 
economic conditions. 
2009 showed one of the 
highest numbers of 
pending investigations on 
record although it dropped 
substantially in 2010 due 
to greater efficiency in 
processing investigations. 
GREC has increasingly 
issued more Citations 

over the last 5 years as 
indicated on the table 
below. A Citation is a 
specific type of disciplinary 
action that usually imposes 
payment of a fine and fees 
in addition to educational 
requirements. A Citation 
may be imposed for an 
action that did not cause 
serious harm to the public. 
For instance, failing to 
include a license number 
on a contract could result 
in a Citation as opposed to 
a more serious action such 

as the suspension or 
revocation of a license. 
Most investigations are 
initiated by complaints 
from clients or customers 
or by other licensees.    

Statistics of Recent Violations 

 

 

Issued in the last 
12 months: 
- 165 Citations  
- 116 Revocations 
- 88 Suspensions 
- 21 disciplinary 
  sanctions 



The license law actually 
requires the broker or 
qualifying broker of a 
firm to establish, 
implement, and to 
continue procedures to 
provide programs for 
study and review of the 
license laws and the 
rules and regulations for 
all of his/her licensed 
associates. This can be a 
daunting task that requires 
much planning and 
forethought. Fortunately 
the Georgia Real Estate 

Training Tools and Resources 
 Commission provides 

several training and 
management tools for 
brokers and all licensees. 
 

Some brokers are 
implementing policies that 
require all of his/her 
associates to complete 
the online or class version 
of the common violations 
course and/or the trust 
account classes.  
 

 

These are useful GREC 
resources available to aid 
in training and managing 

agents. A calendar of 
classes is stated on page 
4 of this newsletter, and 
the GREC web site 
www.grec.sate.ga.us 
regularly displays the 
schedule for all GREC 
education programs.  
 

Each issue of this 
newsletter will contain an 
actual case study with 
reference to specific 
license laws that can be 
used in broker-licensee 
training meetings. 

GREC currently offers a 
free 3-hour continuing 
education course online, 
“Practicing Real Estate 
and & Staying Out of 
Trouble.” Any licensee or 
unlicensed assistants 
may take the course by 
enrolling online at 
www.jmre.com/grec. 

GREC Online Course is a Free Resource for All Licensees 
 Over 2500 licensees have 

enrolled or completed the 
course and the responses 
are very positive. Actual 
cases of common 
violations are reviewed 
with emphasis on practical 
application. Through the 
Real Estate Education, 
Research and Recovery 

fund GREC has contracted 
to develop and provide 2 
more 3-hour courses for 
licensees. These online 
courses should be available 
by November 2010 and 
March 2011. Brokers have 
found GREC courses to be 
useful training tools and 
ones that help protect the 
broker. 

   AAAbsolutely MMMust KKKnow Section …………Do you know the AMKs? 
 

“I now require all 
my agents to 

complete the GREC 
online course as 

part of their 
training.”   Broker 

Comment 

page 3 Georgia Real Estate Commission Newsletter 

Every issue will include 
up to 3 critical items 
from the License law. 

Every transaction must 
state within the 
contract, lease, etc. the 
license number issued 
by the Commission of 
each firm and each 
licensee participating 
in the transaction. 

Copies of contracts, 
brokerage 
engagements, closing 
statements, leases, etc. 
related to a real estate 
transaction must be 
maintained in a broker’s 
file for three (3) years. 

 

Every licensee must 
complete 6 hours of 
continuing 
education for each 
year of licensure. A 
licensee must have 
24 hours CE in order 
to renew as an 
active licensee. 

“The trust account 
class is not just for 
brokers; all agents 
need to take this 
course.” Student Comment 

http://www.grec.sate.ga.us/�
http://www.jmre.com/grec�
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Brokerage Class Schedule 
 

September 15, 2010 
Columbus Board (706) 323-1701 
October 25, 2010 
 I-85 North Board (706) 335-3044 
November 29, 2010 
Statesboro Board (912) 764-3818 
December 15, 2010  
Metro South Association 
770-477-7579 

Calendar of Classes 
 

Semi-Annual Publication for all Georgia Real Estate Licensees 

 

Common Violations Class  
 

September 14, 2010 
GAMLS Tucker (770) 493-9000 
October 14, 2010 
Georgia Institute (404) 252-6768 
October 20, 2010 
Camden Board (912) 882-5806 
October 21, 2010 
Savannah Board (912) 354-1513 
October 22, 2010 
Statesboro Board (912)764-3818 

Trust Account Class Schedule 
 

September 16, 2010 
Columbus Board (706) 323-1701 
October 26, 2010 
 I-85 North Board (706) 335-3044 
November 30, 2010 
Statesboro Board (912) 764-3818 
December 16, 2010  
Metro South Association 
770-477-7579 

   

 

page 4 Georgia Real Estate Commission Newsletter 

INSIDE THIS 
ISSUE:  

Cases & Laws      1-2 

Training  3 

AMK  3 

Schedules 4 

Georgia Real Estate 
Commission 
Suite 1000 
International Tower 
229 Peachtree Street NE 
Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 
Phone 404-656-3916 
 


	Recap of License Law Changes
	Statistics of Recent Violations
	Absolutely Must Know Section …………Do you know the AMKs?
	Training Tools and Resources
	GREC Online Course is a Free Resource for All Licensees
	Semi-Annual Publication for all Georgia Real Estate Licensees
	Calendar of Classes

