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Sources to Review Recent Updates of the 
License Law, Rules, and Regulations 

Click Here 

The GREC Online Courses have been updated to contain the recent 
changes to the Georgia License Law, Rules, and Regulations. 

   If you have not yet taken, or have already completed the 3 GREC online courses over 1 
year ago, you can register again for the GREC online courses and stay current with the 
License Law, Rules, and Regulations. A licensee can take the same course again one 
year after completing the course, either online or in class. 
   In 2014, significant changes were made to the advertising rules and the requirements 
for continuing education hours. In addition to the Online Courses, GREC offers several 
resources to assist the licensee in maintaining his/her license and keeping current with 
changes in laws and regulations. See page 2 for a list of methods to keep current … 

The Georgia Real Estate Commission Annual 
School Meeting is November 21, 2014. 

The GREC Annual School Meet ing has been approved by the GREC for 
s ix (6) hours of  cont inuing educat ion credit  for real estate l icensees and 
instructors and seven (7) hours of  cont inuing educat ion credi t  by the Georgia 
Real Estate Appraisers Board (GREAB) for appraisal inst ructors and real 
estate appraisers.  Reg ist rat ion Link  

The Annual  School  meet ing wi l l  be only one day th is year .  Inst ructors 
should plan to at tend the ful l  day to obtain the hours of  instructor  cont inuing 
educat ion.  Real Estate Instructors licensed in Georgia must have 24 hours of 
continuing education credits to renew their instructor license. Hours may be obtained 
by attending the Annual School meeting each year OR by attending at least two 
Annual School meetings and completing 12 hours of continuing education approved 
for Instructors.  

A 6-hour Instructor training course will be offered on October 17, 2014 in 
Auburn, Alabama through the Alabama Real Estate Commission. Georgia Instructors 
can earn six (6) hours of instructor continuing education by taking this training. 
Registration for this instructor training is available with the Auburn University Office of 
Professional and Continuing Education. Instructor Training Registration  

See Page 3 for Proposed Rules Changes regarding unlicensed support 
personnel and changes to Appraiser rules…. 
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Sources……continued from page 1    

Focus on Terminology:    “Topic of License Law” 

Comments or 
Suggestions 
Click Here. In addition to the monthly issue and the archived issues of The GREC RENewsletter, the 

Georgia Real Estate Commission provides several tools to inform licensees of changes to 
the License Law, Rules, and Regulations as well as proposed changes. Below is a list of 
current resources. 
 
• Regularly Scheduled Live Classes  

o UGREC Brokerage Course & Trust Accounts Class Dates  
o UCommon Violations Class Dates 

o Adopted legislative or rule changes affecting real estate licensees are posted on the 
GREC web site at http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/readopted.html  

• Recent Law Updates at http://www.jmre.com/GREC/RecentLawUpdates.pdf  
• The GREC Real Estate School web site www.jmre.com/grec has 5 tabs for quick 

reference. See a screen shot below. 
 

                           
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Updated! 

GREC  
Online 

Courses 
Click Here 

Beginning July 1, 2016, in order to renew any real estate license, required 
continuing education must include 3 hours of material on the “topic of license law”, 
which is further defined as follows: 
 
520-2-.04 Real Estate Courses. 
(6)(f) Any course developed to qualify as a continuing education course on the 
topic of license law under Rule 520-1-.05 (1)(e) shall have a minimum of three 
credit hours and shall contain a review of material that covers all the following 
areas of license law to wit: 
(1) The effects on license status by a licensee of prohibited conduct found in  
O.C.G.A. §43-40-15 (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), and (m); 
(2) Requirements of a qualifying broker and an affiliated licensee upon transfer of a 
license from one firm to another under O.C.G.A. 43-40-19 and Rule 520-1-.07 (5); 
(3) Requirements of a qualifying broker and affiliate licensee concerning trust or 
escrow accounts under O.C.G.A. §43-40-20 and under Rule 520-1-.08; 
(4) Unfair trade practices prohibited by O.C.G.A. §43-40-25 (b); 
(5) Brokerage relationships under Rule 520-1-.06; 
(6) Management responsibilities of real estate firms under Rule 520-1-.07 (4), (5)  
and (6); 
(7) Advertising under O.C.G.A. §43-40-25 (b)(1), (2), (11), (12) and (21) and Rule 
520-1-.09; 
(8) Handling real estate transactions under Rule 520-1-.10; and 
(9) Licensees acting as principals under Rule 520-1-.11. 
 
Beginning July 1, 2015, a licensee must have 36 hours of continuing education to 
renew a real estate license. 

Link to the 
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Click Here 
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NOTICE TO REAL ESTATE LICENSEES 
OF RULE CHANGES 

 
At its August 13, 2014 meeting, The Georgia Real Estate 
Commission voted to propose changes to the “Management 
Responsibilities of Real Estate Firms” Rule addressing the use of 
support personnel. It allows active licensees affiliated with one 
firm to be support personnel at another firm. 
You may view this Rules by clicking here: 
 

https://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/reproposed.html 

 
NOTICE TO REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

OF RULE CHANGES 
 
At its September 15, 2014 meeting, The Georgia Real Estate 
Appraisers Board voted to propose major changes to the 
“Appraiser Classifications and Their Education, Examination, and 
Experience Requirements” Rule and the “Courses” rule. These 
Rules will implement the Real Property Appraiser Qualification 
Criteria required as of January 1, 2015 as established by the 
Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of The Appraisal 
Foundation. 
You may view these proposed Rules by clicking here: 
 

https://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/apprproposed.html 
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Click Here 

Links to other recently adopted changes to the Georgia License Law, 
Rules, and Regulations are shown below: 
 
 

 520-2-.04 Real Estate Courses - Effective September 1, 2014 

 520-1-.05 Maintaining a License - Effective September 1, 2014 

 

Proposed Rule Changes 
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The Appraisers 
Page 

One of the most common questions I am asked when I speak to groups or teach a 
class is – what is the difference in a refinance appraisal and a purchase appraisal? Or 
do you appraise a property differently for an individual that you would for a bank? Or 
clients will call and request an appraisal be done like we would for a refinance or a 
purchase.  
The bottom line is that most appraisals are more alike than you might think. With only a 
few exceptions, the vast majority of appraisals are to estimate market value of the 
subject property as of the day the appraiser inspects the property. That is, what would 
the property sell for on that date? 
The definition of market value is “the most probable price which a property should bring 

in a competitive and open market under all conditions requisite to a fair sale, the buyer and seller each 
acting prudently and knowledgeably, and assuming the price is not affected by undue stimulus. Implicit in 
this definition is the consummation of a sale as of a specified date and the passing of title from seller to 
buyer under conditions whereby: 
(1)  Buyer and seller are typically motivated;  
(2)  Both parties are well informed or well advised, and acting in what they consider their own best interests;  
(3)  A reasonable time is allowed for exposure in the open market;  
(4)  Payment is made in terms of cash in U.S. dollars or in terms of financial arrangements comparable 
thereto; and  
(5) The price represents the normal consideration for the property sold unaffected by special or creative 
financing or sales concessions granted by anyone associated with the sale.” (FIRREA - SOURCE:  The 
provisions of this Part 323 appear at 55 Fed. Reg. 33888, August 20, 1990, effective September 19, 1990, 
except as otherwise noted) 
Unless the appraiser is asked for another type of value, every appraisal should be based on this common 
definition. Examples of other types of value are retrospective – the client wants to know the value of the 
property as of a previous date, this is common in tax appeal work where the value would be January 1st of a 
given year. Quick sale or liquidation value – the client wants to know what the property would be worth if the 
marketing time were to be reduced. Another valuation which often gets confused is the value of a property 
for relocation purposes. In a standard relocation appraisal, the appraiser completes an ERC appraisal 
report which does not ask the appraiser to arrive at a market value as of the date of inspection but an 
anticipated net sales price so many days in the future (typically 90 or 120 days). There are a number of 
other specialty valuations which are done based on the agreed scope of the appraisal but these are not 
common and certainly are not done for typical mortgage appraisal purposes. 
The other question that comes up is why are refinance appraisals always higher than other types of 
appraisals? I can understand why this is a common misconception because there may have been some 
truth to it in the past. I hate to say it but we saw many appraisers, pressured by lenders and homeowners,  
tend to stretch the value when completing a refinance appraisal.                                      … continued on page 4 
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Different Appraisal Types 
 

By: D. Scott Murphy, SRA  
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Appraisers are licensed and bound by the rules of the state for which the property is located. They are 
also governed by a set of national standards called USPAP (Uniform Standards of Professional 
Practice). There are certain instances when the appraiser can deviate from the USPAP rules but for 
simplicity the point is all appraisers must follow the same rules and standards. This applies to how the 
property is measured to how the comparables are located. It applies to which approaches to value are to 
be used and when certain approaches can be eliminated.  
As a very generalized statement, the appraiser goes through the exact same process with every single 
appraisal assignment and should arrive at the same value regardless of the intended use of the 
appraisal. The difference is in the appraisal assignment type. If it is a driveby the fee might be lower 
because the appraiser does not inspect the interior of the property and does not have to measure the 
property. That time savings translates to a lower fee. However, the appraiser still researches the 
comparables the same way, makes the same adjustments, and arrives at the same value. He has to 
make certain assumptions about condition, quality, and amenities and relies on public data for physical 
information such as square footage and room count. The client is aware that a driveby might be less 
reliable than a full appraisal and the appraiser outlines any assumptions he has made in his report. 
If you were to have a prelisting appraisal done one day, a refinance appraisal done the next day and a 
purchase appraisal done the following day – all should arrive at a similar value. The reason I did not say 
“the same value”, is that an appraisal is an estimate of market value. Appraising is not a perfect science. 
There is an element of art was well as the fact that the market is not perfect. Homes do not sell for a 
specified price or X% of the list price. However, these three appraisals should be within a reasonable 
range – which is generally thought to be 5-8%+/- of each other.  
So while there are a variety of uses for an appraisal and there are a variety of forms and formats the 
appraisals are presented in, for the most part, the appraiser is striving to report the true market value of 
the subject property as of the date of the inspection. I am sure I have said this in previous articles, but 
appraisers need to remember that they do not determine market value they interpret market value. I see 
more variance in appraised values on the same property due to appraisers who do not understand this 
fact and who do not accurately research the market, then and the type of appraisal or the purpose of the 
appraisal.  
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continued from page 4… 
This caused many people to be upside down with regards to the relationship between 
their mortgage balance and true market value.  
The fact of the matter is that regardless of whether an appraisal is done for a divorce, 
a refinance, a purchase, prelisting, or any other matter where the objective is to 
arrive at the current market value – the outcome or resulting value should be the 
same. It does not matter if it is a desktop appraisal, a drive-by appraisal, a full 
appraisal completed on a standard form or a full blown narrative report, the resulting 
value should be the same.  
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