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 An individual licensee cannot rent 
out personal property without the 
knowledge and supervison of 
his/her Broker. 

 A principal/owner (individual or 
company) may manage his/her own 
properties without a license but not 
anyone else’s property. 

 Anyone can file a formal complaint 
against an unlicensed person or 
entity performing property 
management without a license 

 The Commission issues a Cease 
and Desist order to unlicensed 
individuals or companies providing 
Property Management services 
without a license. Fines can be 
levied for violating the order. 

 Managing property in Georgia is a real 
estate brokerage activity that requires 
a real estate license, whether done by 
a company or an individual. 

 Property Management includes the 
leasing of homes for rent.  A 
salesperson who wants to lease a 
house for a client must conduct this 
activity through the brokerage firm 
that holds his or her license. 

 An individual licensee managing 
properties for others must give 
security deposits and rental payments 
to his/her broker for deposit. 

 Security deposits and rental payments 
must be deposited in a  firms’ Trust 
Account registered with the 
Commission 

At a recent meeting of the 
Education Advisory Committee of the 
Georgia Real Estate Commission, 
Real Estate Commissioner William 
Rogers, Jr. presented information 
regarding the decline in the number of 
licensees renewing their licenses and 
the most common violations. The 
following statistics are as of 
September 1, 2011. 

 
 There are 90,115 real estate licensees 

in Georgia. (Three years ago, in 2008, 
there were 105,000 licensees, which is 
a decrease of 14,885 licensees.) 

 About 76% of licensees are currently 
on Active status 

 23% of licenses are on Inactive status 
 Over the past 18 months, 7,910 

licensees have chosen not to renew 
                                  … continued on page  

Calendar  
 

HUGREC Brokerage Course & 
Trust Accounts Class 
DatesUH: 
 October 26 &27, 2011 

Atlanta Board 
http://www.abr.org 

 November 16 & 17, 2011  
West GA Board 
www.westgaboard.org  

 November 29 & 30, 2011 
Southwest GA Board 
(229)377-8986  

 December 14 & 15, 2011 
GIRE 
http://www.learning 
realestate.com 
 

HUCommon Violations Class 
DatesU: 
 October 19, 2011  

400 North Board 
Dawsonville, GA 
(706) 216-5229 

 October 26, 2011  
Paulding Board 
 (678) 663-6387 

 November 2, 2011 
East Metro Board 
770-787-3763 

 
GREC Annual Schools 
Meeting 
 December 1 & 2, 2011 
        Athens, GA 

Click here to 
see GREC 

Disciplinary 
Sanctions 

CCCooolllddd,,,   HHHaaarrrddd,,, FFFaaaccctttsss EEEvvveeerrryyy LLLiiiccceeennnssseeeeee SSShhhooouuulllddd 
KKKnnnooowww   AAAbbbooouuuttt   PPPrrrooopppeeerrrtttyyy   MMMaaannnaaagggeeemmmeeennnttt   

You must have a an active 
real estate license to perform 

Property Management 
services. 

TTTrrreeennndddsss  iiinnn LLLiiiccceeennnssseeesss aaannnddd   VVViiiooolllaaatttiiiooonnnsss 

http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/resanctions.html
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/PDFS/About/newsarticles/GRECFlyer2011.pdf
http://www.learningrealestate.com/
http://www.westgaboard.org/
http://www.abr.org/
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/PDFS/About/newsarticles/2011%20Schedule1128.pdf
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Enroll Now  
 

Free GREC CE 
Courses Online 

 
1.  

“Avoiding Trust 
Account Trouble” 

 
2. 

“Being a Broker 
& Staying Out of 

Trouble” 
 

3.   
“Practicing Real 
Estate & Staying 
Out of Trouble” 

      
 

Click Here  
 

      Focus on Terminology: “Property Management” 

HUComments or 
Suggestions 
Click Here U 

HUTo sign up to 
receive the 
GREC 
RENewsletter      
Click HereU 

§ 43-40-1.  Definitions GA Code 43-40-1 Definitions 
   (7) "Property management services" means the provision, for a valuable 
consideration, to another of marketing, including referring prospective tenants; 
leasing; physical, administrative, or financial maintenance; and overall management 
of real property; or supervision of the foregoing activities for another pursuant to a 
property management agreement.”  

You must have an active real estate license to perform Property 
Management services and receive a fee. 
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TTTrrreeennndddsss   iiinnn   LLLiiiccceeennnssseeesss   aaannnddd   VVViiiooolllaaatttiiiooonnnsss……… 

GREC FAQ:                                                                    www.grec.state.ga.us 
 

How can I find out what courses and education hours are posted to my 
license? 
 

From the GREC web site at www.grec.state.ga.us, start by selecting the 
Agents/Firms drop down tab on the left of the screen. 
Select Online Services System   Proceed to Online Services System  
Enter your License number and password. (Folow the instructions to create a 
password if you have not done so already.) 
Individual course names, completion dates, number of credit hours, and the School 
name are listed in reverse chronological order. If you completed a specific course that 
is not listed, you should contact the school where you took the course to have the 
school post the course to your record. 
 

(You can also update your email address or change your mailing address through the 
Online Services System.) 

…continued from page 1 

their licenses. (This is an average of 
439 per month.) 

 There are about 5,000 licensed 
Appraisers in Georgia, and the 
number is decreasing at about 30 
per month. 

 Those applicants seeking to obtain a 
real estate license have also 
declined, averaging about 300 per 
month. 

In consideration of market conditions, a 
decrease in these numbers is not 

surprising. However, because of the 
decline in numbers and related fees to be 
received by the Commission, the Georgia 
Real Estate Commission is strongly 
focused on efficiency in operations.  

Over the last year, Commissioner 
Rogers has implemented procedures to 
speed up case investigations and the 
disciplinary process. As of October 3 
2011, over 900 cases have been 
processed this year. Many recent 
violations concern Property Management. 

Property Management Violations: 
The many recent violations concerning Property Management fall into two 
categories: 

1. Licensees conducting Property Management activities without following the 
License Laws, Rules, and Regulations. 

2. Non-licensed individuals performing Property Mangement activities for 
another party. 

http://www.jmre.com/grecrenewscomment.htm
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/subscribe.html
http://www.jmre.com/grec/
http://www.grec.state.ga.us
http://www.grec.state.ga.us
https://www.grec.state.ga.us/info/wcls.secure_login?p_number=&p_action=Continue&p_errors=N
https://www.grec.state.ga.us/info/wcls.secure_login?p_number=&p_action=Continue&p_errors=N
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/about/relaw.html

