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Georgia Real Estate 
Commission 
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International Tower 
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Click here to see 
the latest GREC 

Disciplinary 
Sanctions 

 

 
Calendar 
 

• January 27, 2010 
GREC Brokerage 
Course 
Dekalb Association 

• January 28, 2010 
GREC Trust Account 
Class 
Dekalb Association 

• February 24, 2010 
GREC Brokerage 
Course 
Rabun County Board 
706-782-7751 

• February 25, 2010 
GREC Trust Account 
Class 
Rabun County Board 
706-782-7751 

• April 29-30, 2010 
Georgia Instructor 
Training Workshop 
GIT – Atlanta  
http://www.grec-
git.com/ 

GREC RENews

For example, if a licensee completes a 
Broker Prelicense course, those hours 
meet the 24 hour requirement for that 
renewal period.  In addition, if a 
licensee takes a course in another 
state to meet that state’s CE 
requirements, that course could count 
for Georgia credit in most cases. 

 Continuing Education is an 
integral part of holding a real estate 
license. It serves several purposes: 
• Meets license law requirements 
• Provides needed education on 

updates in the law 
• Provides opportunities to train in new 

specialties, such as commercial real 
estate 

Managing Your Continuing Education

Licensees on 
inactive status 

should take CE as 
if they were 

actively licensed. 

Although hours earned 
over the 24 hour minimum 
cannot be carried over to 
the next renewal period, a 
large number of licensees 
obtain well over the 
minimum requirement of 
24 hours because they 
have classes they want to 
attend. 

If a licensee is on inactive status, 
he/she should continue to take CE 
courses as if he/she were actively 
licensed. Otherwise, the licensee 
must obtain all the CE hours that 
accumulated during the inactive time 
period before the licensee can 
activate the license. For example, a 
licensee that stays inactive for 5 
years would have to have 30 hours of 
CE credit before being able to 
activate his/her license and practice 
real estate. A real estate license is an 
earned privilege that must be 
managed and maintained. 
 

• Provides opportunities for 
networking and career enrichment 
 

Currently every licensee must 
obtain 6 hours of Continuing Education 
credit for each year of licensure and 
the basic license renewal period is 
every 4 years. Therefore 24 hours of 
CE is required to maintain and renew a 
license.  

The license law does not currently 
require that the licensee take any 
specific courses or subjects as long as 
the course and school are both 
authorized by the Georgia Real Estate 
Commission to issue credit. 

There are several ways to obtain 
continuing education credits.  

• Provides opportunities to 
learn how to handle 
market driven services, 
such as foreclosures and  
short sales 

• Provides a review of  
license law, rules and 
regulations 
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The Home Buyer Tax Credit Can Apply to 
Repeat or Move-Up Home Buyers as Well as 

First-time Home Buyers 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

To sign up to 
receive the 
GREC 
RENewsletter      
Click Here 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

There is still time to take advantage of the tax credit opportunities in residential real 
estate. In fact, there is also a credit that extends to existing home owners. Most of 
the focus has been on new/first-time homebuyers, but a repeat homebuyer can take 
advantage of a related tax credit as well. Because values are still favorable for 
buyers, it may be an opportunity for existing homeowners. 
 
“The Worker, Homeownership, and Business Assistance Act of 2009 has established 
a tax credit of up to $6,500 for qualified move-up/repeat home buyers (existing home 
owners) purchasing a principal residence after November 6, 2009 and on or before 
April 30, 2010 (or purchased by June 30, 2010 with a binding sales contract signed 
by April 30, 2010).” 
 
The definition of a move-up or repeat home buyer is someone who has owned and 
resided in a home for at least 5 consecutive years of the 8 years prior. Other 
definitions, frequently asked questions and further information can be found at the 
following link: http://www.federalhousingtaxcredit.com/faq2.php . 
 

“The Worker, Homeownership, and Business Assistance Act of 2009 has extended 
the tax credit of up to $8,000 for qualified first-time home buyers purchasing a 
principal residence. The tax credit now applies to sales occurring on or after January 
1, 2009 and on or before April 30, 2010. However, in cases where a binding sales 
contract is signed by April 30, 2010, a home purchase completed by June 30, 2010 
will qualify.”  
 
The licensee should always advise the client or the customer to consult a tax advisor 
or legal professional concerning tax and legal issues. Every individual’s tax situation 
is unique. However, by suggesting these opportunities and offering possible 
alternatives, the licensee is educating the buyer and providing valued-added service. 
These tax credit programs can provide a needed incentive to an existing homeowner 
as well as first time buyers.  
 

Source this article was quoted from http://www.federalhousingtaxcredit.com/faq1.php. 

Comments or 
Suggestions 
Click Here  

Focus on Terminology: “Lapsed License” 
Enroll Now  

For Free GREC 
Online CE 

Course  

A license has “lapsed” when the licensee has not met the requirements 
for renewal: Requirements for renewing a license include:  

• Paying the required renewal fee 
• Paying any applicable reinstatement fees 
• Successfully completing the required number of education credits  
 

If a license lapses, the licensee cannot practice real estate brokerage 
until he/she has met all the requirements and renews the license on active 
status. In order to renew, all continuing education hours must be obtained, 
even for those years that the license was on inactive status. Rule 520-1-
.05 (4) details the requirements to reinstate a lapsed license. A licensee 
can check his/her licensure status from the online services feature of the 
GREC web site. 

“Staying Out of 
Trouble”  
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