539-2-.03 Courses.

(1) The Board intends that all approved courses be educational in nature. Schools should
not specifically orient approved courses to the passing of state examinations or other
examinations. The courses should introduce students to the language of the profession
and basic theory underlying the duties and responsibilities of a real estate appraiser.
Approved courses shall require practice in the skills being taught and provide a
significant number of exercises for practice of those skills. All courses should make
students aware of the need for further study and the perfection of practical skills.

(2) The curriculum of courses approved under this Rule should include at a minimum the
following:

(a) for courses approved to meet the education requirement for a State Trainee or State
Registered real property appraiser:

1. 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles covering topics such as real property concepts
and characteristics, legal considerations, influences on real estate values, types of value,
economic principles, an overview of real estate markets and analysis, the provisions of
the Appraisal Act and its Rules and Regulations, and ethics and how they apply in
appraisal theory and practice;

2. 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures covering topics such as the provisions of
Georgia’s Residential Mortgage Fraud law and methods for identifying possible fraud in
transactions and properly reporting alleged fraud, an overview of approaches to value,
valuation procedures, property description, and residential applications;

3. 15 hours in Residential Report Writing and Case Studies covering topics such as
writing and reasoning skills, common writing problems, form reports, report options,
USPAP compliance, and case studies or 15 hours in General Appraisal Report Writing
and Case Studies covering topics such as writing and reasoning skills, common writing
problems, and report options;

4. the current version of the 15-Hour National (USPAP) course (or its AQB-approved
equivalent);

5. such other subject matter as the Board may require or approve.

(b) for courses approved to meet the education requirement for state licensed real
property appraiser:

1. 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles covering topics such as real property concepts
and characteristics, legal considerations, influences on real estate values, types of value,
economic principles, an overview of real estate markets and analysis, the provisions of
the Appraisal Act and its Rules and Regulations, and ethics and how they apply in
appraisal theory and practice;

2. 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures covering topics such as the provisions of
Georgia’s Residential Mortgage Fraud law and methods for identifying possible fraud in
transactions and properly reporting alleged fraud, an overview of approaches to value,
valuation procedures, property description, and residential applications;

3. 15 hours in Residential Market Analysis And Highest And Best Use covering topics
such as market fundamentals and characteristics, supply analysis, demand analysis, use of
market analysis, and the application of highest and best use;

4. 15 hours in Residential Appraisal Site Valuation And Cost Approach covering topics
such as site valuation methods, cost approach concepts and definitions,
replacement/reproduction cost new, and methods of estimating accrued depreciation;



5. 30 hours in Residential Sales Comparison And Income Approaches covering topics
such as sales comparison valuation principles & procedures, income valuation principles
& procedures, finance and cash equivalency, financial calculators, derivation and
measurement of adjustments, gross rent multipliers, partial interests, and reconciliation;
6. 15 hours in Residential Report Writing and Case Studies covering topics such as
writing and reasoning skills, common writing problems, form reports, report options,
USPAP compliance, and case studies;

7. 15 hours in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP);
(NOTE: If an applicant plans to use this course for a certified classification, the
Appraisal Subcommittee of the federal government contends that federal law requires
that the course be one not subject to the Board’s review and approval. Instead, it must be
one the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation has identified by the
name “15-hour National USPAP Course, or its equivalent.” The Appraisal Foundation,
the private entity that mandates the use of that course, seeks to generate profits from it.
That course and its equivalent courses were developed under criteria unknown to the
Board. The phrase “its equivalent” apparently means only a course that The Appraisal
Foundation says is “equivalent” to its course. Appraisers may not receive credit for the
“15-hour National USPAP Course, or its equivalent” unless (a) the school offers The
Appraisal Foundation’s course on USPAP and pays The Appraisal Foundation special
fees for the number of students enrolled in its course, (b) secures the permission of an
entity that has achieved The Appraisal Foundation’s “equivalent” status to offer its
course, or (c¢) secures The Appraisal Foundation’s “equivalent” status for a course the
school develops. Regardless of which of the three types of USPAP course that a school
uses, every student it enrolls must receive a copy of Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice for which The Appraisal Foundation has received payment or a
royalty. Regardless of the educational quality of the course, a course on USPAP
developed by Board approved schools may not replace the “15-hour National USPAP
Course, or its equivalent” unless the school obtains The Appraisal Foundation’s
equivalency authorization and pays The Appraisal Foundation any fees it may require for
(a) the approval and (b) offering the course or materials to students; and

8. such other subject matter as the Board may require or approve.

(c) for courses approved to meet the education requirement for state certified residential
real property appraiser:

1. 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles covering topics such as real property concepts
and characteristics, legal considerations, influences on real estate values, types of value,
economic principles, an overview of real estate markets and analysis, the provisions of
the Appraisal Act and its Rules and Regulations, and ethics and how they apply in
appraisal theory and practice;

2. 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures covering topics such as the provisions of
Georgia’s Residential Mortgage Fraud law and methods for identifying possible fraud in
transactions and properly reporting alleged fraud, an overview of approaches to value,
valuation procedures, property description, and residential applications;

3. 15 hours in Residential Market Analysis And Highest And Best Use covering topics
such as market fundamentals and characteristics, supply analysis, demand analysis, use of
market analysis, and the application of highest and best use;

4. 15 hours in Residential Appraisal Site Valuation And Cost Approach covering topics



such as site valuation methods, cost approach concepts and definitions,
replacement/reproduction cost new, and methods of estimating accrued depreciation;

5. 30 hours in Residential Sales Comparison And Income Approaches covering topics
such as sales comparison valuation principles & procedures, income valuation principles
& procedures, finance and cash equivalency, financial calculators, derivation and
measurement of adjustments, gross rent multipliers, partial interests, and reconciliation;
6. 15 hours in Residential Report Writing and Case Studies covering topics such as
writing and reasoning skills, common writing problems, form reports, report options and
USPAP compliance, and case studies;

7. 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling And Finance covering topics such as statist ics,
valuation, models, and real estate finance;

8. 15 hours in Advanced Residential Applications And Case Studies covering topics such
as complex property, ownership and market conditions, deriving and supporting
adjustments, residential market analysis, and advanced case studies;

9. 20 hours of additional courses in appraisal subject matter;

10. 15 hours in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP);
(NOTE: If an applicant plans to use this course for a certified classification, the
Appraisal Subcommittee of the federal government contends that federal law requires
that the course be one not subject to the Board’s review and approval. Instead, it must be
one the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation has identified by the
name “15-hour National USPAP Course, or its equivalent.” The Appraisal Foundation,
the private entity that mandates the use of that course, seeks to generate profits from it.
That course and its equivalent courses were developed under criteria unknown to the
Board. The phrase “its equivalent” apparently means only a course that The Appraisal
Foundation says is “equivalent” to its course. Appraisers may not receive credit for the
“15-hour National USPAP Course, or its equivalent” unless (a) the school offers The
Appraisal Foundation’s course on USPAP and pays The Appraisal Foundation special
fees for the number of students enrolled in its course, (b) secures the permission of an
entity that has achieved The Appraisal Foundation’s “equivalent” status to offer its
course, or (c¢) secures The Appraisal Foundation’s “equivalent” status for a course the
school develops. Regardless of which of the three types of USPAP course that a school
uses, every student it enrolls must receive a copy of Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice for which The Appraisal Foundation has received payment or a
royalty. Regardless of the educational quality of the course, a course on USPAP
developed by Board approved schools may not replace the “15-hour National USPAP
Course, or its equivalent” unless the school obtains The Appraisal Foundation’s
equivalency authorization and pays The Appraisal Foundation any fees it may require for
(a) the approval and (b) offering the course or materials to students; and

11. such other subject matter as the Board may require or approve.

(d) for courses approved to meet the education requirement for state certified general real
property appraiser:

1. 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Principles covering topics such as real property concepts
and characteristics, legal considerations, influences on real estate values, types of value,
economic principles, an overview of real estate markets and analysis, the provisions of
the Appraisal Act and its Rules and Regulations, and ethics and how they apply in
appraisal theory and practice;



2. 30 hours in Basic Appraisal Procedures covering topics such as the provisions of
Georgia’s Residential Mortgage Fraud law and methods for identifying possible fraud in
transactions and properly reporting alleged fraud, an overview of approaches to value,
valuation procedures, property description, and residential applications;

3. 30 hours in General Appraisal Market Analysis And Highest And Best Use covering
topics such as market fundamentals and characteristics, supply analysis, demand analysis,
use of market analysis, and the application of highest and best use;

4. 30 hours in General Appraisal Site Valuation And Cost Approach covering topics such
as site valuation methods, cost approach concepts and definitions,
replacement/reproduction cost new, and methods of estimating accrued depreciation;

5. 30 hours in General Appraisal Sales Comparison Approach covering topics such as
sales comparison valuation principles & procedures, derivation and measurement of
adjustments, and reconciliation;

6. 60 hours in General Appraisal Income Approach covering topics such as compound
interest, lease analysis, income analysis, vacancy and collection loss, estimating operating
expenses and reserves, reconstructed income and expense statement, stabilized net
operating income estimate, direct capitalization, discounted cash flow, yield
capitalization, and partial interests;

7. 30 hours in General Appraisal Report Writing and Case Studies covering topics such
as writing and reasoning skills, common writing problems, and report options;

8. 15 hours in Statistics, Modeling And Finance statistics, valuation, and models;

9. 30 hours of additional courses in appraisal subject matter;

10. 15 hours in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP);
(NOTE: If an applicant plans to use this course for a certified classification, the
Appraisal Subcommittee of the federal government contends that federal law requires
that the course be one not subject to the Board’s review and approval. Instead, it must be
one the Appraisal Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation has identified by the
name “15-hour National USPAP Course, or its equivalent.” The Appraisal Foundation,
the private entity that mandates the use of that course, seeks to generate profits from it.
That course and its equivalent courses were developed under criteria unknown to the
Board. The phrase “its equivalent” apparently means only a course that The Appraisal
Foundation says is “equivalent” to its course. Appraisers may not receive credit for the
“15-hour National USPAP Course, or its equivalent” unless (a) the school offers The
Appraisal Foundation’s course on USPAP and pays The Appraisal Foundation special
fees for the number of students enrolled in its course, (b) secures the permission of an
entity that has achieved The Appraisal Foundation’s “equivalent” status to offer its
course, or (c¢) secures The Appraisal Foundation’s “equivalent” status for a course the
school develops. Regardless of which of the three types of USPAP course that a school
uses, every student it enrolls must receive a copy of Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice for which The Appraisal Foundation has received payment or a
royalty. Regardless of the educational quality of the course, a course on USPAP
develope d by Board approved schools may not replace the “15-hour National USPAP
Course, or its equivalent” unless the school obtains The Appraisal Foundation’s
equivalency authorization and pays The Appraisal Foundation any fees it may require for
(a) the approval and (b) offering the course or materials to students; and

11. such other subject matter as the Board may require or approve.



(3) Course fees, entrance standards, and standards for successful completion shall not be
based on the student's race, color, sex, religion, national origin, familial status, or
handicap.

(4) An “instruction hour” means a period of time of at least fifty minutes of instruction or
other learning activity. The Board will grant credit toward a classroom hour requirement
for pre-classification education only if the course offering is at least fifteen hours in
length and the applicant successfully completes an examination pertinent to the course.
The Board will grant credit toward a classroom hour for continuing education only if the
course offering is at least two hours in length. Unless it has prior approval of the Board,
no school may schedule a student for more than seven and one-half (7%2) hours per day of
classroom instruction and testing. The school shall hold all classroom instruction
between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. with breaks totaling at least fifteen
minutes every two hours. The schedule shall allow reasonable time for preparation for
each classroom session.

(5) The school coordinator/director shall notify the Board when any individual class has
fewer than six (6) or more than forty (40) students. The coordinator/director shall give
this notice to the Board within twenty-four hours after the first session of the class.

(6) Each course shall begin and end with the playing of any audio or video tape message
the Board may require.

(7) For all courses schools shall include with each instructional unit appropriate reading
assignments for completion out of class. The school shall also require that students
complete out of class extensive written exercises which the Board approves. Each
written assignment a student submits for grading shall include the following:

| certify that | have personally completed this assignment.

(DATE) (STUDENT'S SIGNATURE)

The school shall refuse to grade any written assignment on which the student does not
sign this statement.

(8) Schools may offer units of instruction on subjects other than those required by the
Board only with prior written approval from the Board.

(9) While instructors may use such teaching methods as lecture, discussion, questions and
answers, etc. in in-class sessions, instruction should also include role play, simulations, or
other similar instructional techniques designed to assist students in mastering the skills
required to act as a real estate appraiser.

(10) The school coordinator/director shall be responsible for consistent and regular
evaluation of the school's instructors. The coordinator/director shall provide each student
with an opportunity to make unsigned, written evaluations of instructors. Schools shall
maintain summaries of these evaluation forms for a period of five years or until the

instructor is no longer used by the school, whichever is earlier.

Authority O.C.G.A. Secs. 43-39A-3, 43-39A-8, 43-39A-9, 43-39A-11, 43-39A-13, 43-39A-18, 43-39A-22.
History. Original Rule entitled "Courses" adopted. F. Sept. 25, 1990; eff. Oct. 15, 1990. Amended: F. Jan.
30, 1991; eff. Feb. 19, 1991. Amended: F. June 28, 1991; eff. July 18, 1991. Amended: F. Mar. 10, 1993;
eff. Mar. 30, 1993. Amended: F. June 8, 1993; eff. June 28, 1993. Amended: F. Mar. 9, 1994; eff. Mar.
29, 1994. Amended: F. Sept. 21, 1994; eff. Oct. 11, 1994. Amended: F. Aug. 2, 1995; eff. Aug. 22, 1995.
Amended: F. Oct. 6, 1998; eff. Oct. 26, 1998. Amended: F. May 2, 2005; eff. May 22, 2005. Amended:
F. Mar. 15, 2006; eff. July 1, 2006, as specified by the Agency. Amended: F. Aug. 28, 2007; eff. Sept. 17,
2007.



